Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Parking Lot for Leaves

Stream bed below Taughannock Falls

Stream bed below Taughannock Falls

I’m still working on processing all the image files from our trip, complicated somewhat by having to get a new external drive and formatting it so that it could be read by my new Macbook Pro laptop (I keep all my images on an external drive).  I was able to read from the old Windows formatted drive but of course couldn’t write to it.  One of the downsides, I guess, of switching systems.  Then another minor problem when I updated Lightroom to the newest version (the new import screen) that has caused a fair amount of trouble with unexpected crashes.  I’m still trying to work around that (and hoping for a quick update from Adobe that corrects it).

Not to mention wanting to get out as much as I can before things start going downhill weather-wise.  This is, after all, western New York.  Fall doesn’t last all that long around here.  So yesterday it was off to one of my favorite spots – Taughannock Falls SP.

Interestingly, one of my favorite images from yesterday’s outing is this one.  I took a number of pictures of the falls, of course, and a lot of the fall color in the park, but this one was kind of an after thought.  I was walking back toward the parking lot – in the gorge itself – when I noticed that the bedrock in this area looked a lot like an old cement parking lot.  In the spring and early summer this would all be covered with water, but it isn’t (normally) in the fall.  The actual stream was directly behind me.  In any case, I was struck by the contrast between the almost white rock and the dark woods a few yards away.  It’s also interesting to note that it was a sunny day.  Even in the early afternoon not much light gets to the bottom of this gorge.  I’d rather walk in a desert canyon, I guess, but I love this place as well.

 

4 Responses to “Parking Lot for Leaves”

  1. TomDills

    When I first saw the photo and before I looked too close or read your description, I thought, “snow already?” Fortunately not, but it won’t be long.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Good heavens, no. Although it’s not all that unusual to see a few flakes around Halloween. But not this year. They’re talking about temperatures in the low 70’s next week. I can live with that…….

      Reply
  2. Markus Spring

    Fine, Paul. For me it’s those images that show someone is seeing, translating, memorizing, showing – the pure essence of photography.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Markus. That’s a very kind thing to say. It’s very interesting, I think, that many of our most memorable photographs are images that we “find” just by keeping our eyes open.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

