Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Behind the Veil

Behind the Veil (4795)

“There was a door to which I found no key: There was the veil through which I might not see.”

                                                                                            Omar Khayyam

 

“Hope is nature’s veil for hiding truth’s nakedness.”

                                                                                      Alfred Nobel

 

I’ve photographed this waterfall before, but this was the first time I’ve seen the mist on the back side of the U-shaped cataract going straight up the far wall.  It usually billows out, sometimes soaking anyone standing where I happened to be that day.  And since I was using a long lens the “veil” that it was forming looks much closer than it actually was.  In black and white I think it looks a tiny bit spooky.  

5 Responses to “Behind the Veil”

  1. E. Brooks

    When I first looked at this image I wasn’t sure what I was seeing, Paul. I could see that it was swiftly moving falling water on the bottom right but the upper left background, “the veil,” relationship didn’t click with me at first. Once I read your explanation it all snapped into place. I can imagine the experience of standing there to be quite impactful. The image makes me want to see it in person.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Yes, you’re right – if you don’t know what you’re looking at it’s kind of puzzling. It’s one of my favorite places in the park because you’re very close to the falls. It’s not quite as impressive as standing next to the Lower Falls at Yellowstone, but for western NY it’s pretty good! Not to mention the fact that it’s a whole lot cooler there than anyplace in Oklahoma. I keep looking at the weather forecasts there and feel really bad for you and Bonnie.

      Reply
  2. Kat Richardson

    Is this the same waterfall seen in your November 2013 post Top of the Rock II? It’s lovely and I agree that this photo has a slightly spooky quality. Funny how the same thing seen different ways changes so much.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Hi Kat. Yes, it’s the same waterfall (Upper Falls at Letchworth SP). And yes, different looks definitely changes things. This falls kind of reminds me of the Lower Falls at Yellowstone NP. You can get similar alternate views there, although that waterfall is significantly larger than this one. And louder.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

