Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Oasis

Furnace Creek Ranch, Death Valley NP

Furnace Creek Ranch, Death Valley NP

Sadly, not my picture.  My wife took this just outside our room at Furnace Creek Ranch in March.  And no, that’s not us.  We were sitting in similar chairs right behind them, though.  Just sucking down beer after a long day of climbing through canyons.  Life was good…….

I’m not sure if Furnace Creek – and there is a creek, by the way – is technically an oasis or not.  But it sure looks like one.  There’s real dirt, real grass, lots of trees, and a spring fed swimming pool (just off to the right).  Drive a half mile in either direction and you’re back in the desert.  

Anyway, it’s a place I wouldn’t mind going back to.  It’s a remarkable park, both geologically and photographically.  But don’t worry – I promise I won’t post any more Death Valley images.  Well, at least not for a while.  I’m sure I can find something else to photograph.  Something around here.  Around Rochester, I mean.  Something.  Somewhere.

2 Responses to “Oasis”

    • Paul Maxim

      It was a relaxing spot, Tom, and so very different from the rest of Death Valley. Wouldn’t want to be there now, though. 118 degrees! Yikes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

