Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Desert Dessert

Stratification, Death Valley NP

Stratification, Death Valley NP

When my wife and I saw these formations in Death Valley we had exactly the same response.  It looked like a giant replica of an extremely good – and extremely high calorie – dessert that her sister used to make at Christmas time.  There was lots of cream, lots of chocolate, and lots of sugar.  And we always ate too much of it and we always got sick.  Of course we always swore that we’d never do it again.  Then another Christmas would roll around and we’d do exactly that.  As they say, the flesh is weak…….

It’s hard to believe, though, that our addiction to this evil stuff could be resurrected just by looking at badland formations in Death Valley.  I think that if we could have located some of this sugar and cream and chocolate delight in Death Valley we’d have indulged one more time.  Made ourselves ill one more time.  Right there in the middle of the desert.  Fortunately, none of the restaurants or stores in Furnace Creek had anything like it.  By the time we got to Las Vegas the temptation had passed.  Sanity had returned.

Even now, when I look at this picture, I see that damned chocolate concoction.  And that’s just weird.        

 

2 Responses to “Desert Dessert”

  1. E. Brooks

    Funny how the mind works isn’t it. However, I believe occasionally giving in to harmless indulgences to be beneficial to one’s longer term sanity. So have a little “deadly desert” and keep making these interesting photos! 🙂

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, E.B. You’ve really got to visit this place sometime. Barb and I went not knowing what to expect and were both floored by the stark beauty we saw. And if you’re just a little “geeky” -like me – you’ll love the fascinating geology.

      Unfortunately, I do “indulge” in food that I should leave alone, and I do it on an almost daily basis. That’s why I love to travel. I tend to only eat when I need to when we’re on the road and I actually wind up losing about 10 pounds. Then I get home and the indulgences pick up right where I left off. Dumb.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

