Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

(In) The Dog House

The Dog House (3749)

Speaking of Albuquerque, NM, it turns out that old Native American petroglyphs aren’t the only attraction.  In fact, I’d venture a guess that places like the Dog House draw far more tourists than old rocks.  If you watch TV at all you might know what I’m talking about.  And if you were a big fan of “Breaking Bad” (shown on AMC I think), then you absolutely know what I’m talking about.

Turns out that much of the show was filmed here, although you couldn’t have proved it by me.  I never watched it.  I heard about it and read about it, but never watched a single minute of it.  I’m just not much of a fan of shows that feature drugs and violence.  Especially when it seemed clear to me that the main character wasn’t likely to survive the whole thing.  Surprise, surprise, he didn’t.  

Anyway, this little restaurant appeared in a number of episodes.  Drug deals, slimy characters, etc., etc.  I didn’t know about any of this, of course, until we visited Albuquerque’s Historic District recently.  While there we saw lots of small posters advertising “Breaking Bad” tours.  Turns out that the Dog House is just outside the Historic District, so we went to take a look.  Hence, the photograph.

By the way, if you decide to make like a tourist and visit the Dog House, bring cash.  They don’t accept debit or credit cards.  

5 Responses to “(In) The Dog House”

  1. TomDills

    Looks like a good place for a hot dog, that’s for sure. You couldn’t prove the TV stuff by me, either.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      We’d already eaten so we didn’t stop to try it out. It’s also in kind of a rough section of Albuquerque.

      Yes, I think I remember that you watch very little TV. We try to be selective, but we do watch it (what else is there to do in Webster??).

      Reply
  2. e. Brooks

    Yelp, know it well and was/am a fan “Breaking Bad.” Some serious acting and much more to the story then just drugs and violence, although there was plenty of that. However, I don’t know I would care about visiting the “Dog House” or eating there. Oh, and none of us “survive the whole thing!” 😉

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      No, but maybe – if we’re lucky – some of us will survive a little longer than Walter did!!

      Seriously, I’ve never enjoyed TV (or movies) with those kinds of themes. I couldn’t watch “The Sopranos” either. And I wasn’t a big fan of the “Godfather” films. I’m not saying that they’re bad or that other people shouldn’t watch them. I just don’t care for them.

      Reply
      • e. Brooks

        That the great thing, Paul…there is no right or wrong, no better or worst…it’s each their own and we have the freedom to choose. I’m glad you pointed the “Dog House” out. I didn’t know exactly where it was physically located or even for sure that it was real.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

