Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Finding the Way

Lines in the Snow (1549, Upson Rd.)

I don’t have a photograph, but you can have my footprints.  They’re upstairs in my socks. 

                                                                          Groucho Marx

4 Responses to “Finding the Way”

  1. TomDills

    When I first saw the thumbnail I thought “hey, Paul’s doing motion blur!” Then I opened the post and saw the footprints and thought, “wait a minute!” I love the footprints against the long shadows.

    That triangle of background in the upper left is a bit distracting. Cropping down a little from the top might be something to try.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Tom. Yes, the little triangle in the upper left is a bit of a problem. But if I crop from the top I also lose a little of that bright area in the upper right. A bright spot so close to an edge is also a “rule-breaker” of sorts but I like it. I have tried it both ways, but decided to leave it like this.

      Reply
  2. E. Brooks

    I don’t find that little left corner triangle to be “too” distracting — my eyes kinda follow the footprints up to it, which is not a bad visual flow. Overall it’s a nice photo with the only problem perhaps being that it’s a subject matter (snow) you’ve been forced to become too familiar with recently.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Brooks. At least the wind wasn’t howling on this particular day and there was plenty of sun to make shadows. Mostly I like how the snow turns a bluish color on days like this.

      Personally, I think the groundhog was wrong. Winter isn’t going to last another 6 weeks here. It’ll be more like 6 months.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

