Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Steamed

Steamed 2 (2130)

Sorry for the silly title to this post.  I’ve never been very talented when it comes to double entendres.  And I’m certainly not angry about anything.  But “Steamed” does reflect my fascination with all of the steam vents found inside Yellowstone.  This particular vent can be found along a small stream on the way to Mammoth Hot Springs.  I rarely point my camera toward the sun but it seemed like a good idea in this instance.  The cool morning air also helped to accentuate the rising steam.

Steamed 3 (2129)

Personally, I thought this vent was a little spooky.  Constantly hissing and growling, it seemed more hostile than most.  Except, of course, for the ones that actually did throw boiling water into the air from time to time.  Looking at these images now, it reminds me somewhat of our politicians (here in the U. S.) blathering their way through the 2014 “silly season”.  Lots of noise and gas, but not much substance.

2 Responses to “Steamed”

    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Tom. I think I could spend weeks wandering around this place. With respect to the politics going on right now, I swear I’m going to scream if I hear one more of those nasty ads on TV……..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

