Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Utah Aspens

Aspens (3150)

One of our favorite roads in the southwest is Scenic Byway 12, an amazing little secondary road that runs from just west of Bryce Canyon, Utah to Torrey, Utah (near Capitol Reef NP).  More than any other road, I think, it encapsulates the essence of the Colorado Plateau.  Along this 120 mile route you can see everything from high desert to an alpine mountaintop – Boulder Mountain to be exact – where cows run free in the woods (and sometimes on the road itself).

One of the things I enjoy most about Boulder Mountain is the white Aspens.  At this altitude the trees sometimes change color in early September (as they did this year).  While I love the oranges and reds of fall here in western NY, I think the clumps of yellow Aspens, set against the deep greens of the ubiquitous pines, can be just as beautiful.

8 Responses to “Utah Aspens”

    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Tom. Yes, I’d say that you do a lot more in the way of abstracts than I do. Like you, I sometimes wonder why I don’t do it more often, if for no other reason than to get away from the “documentary” photographs that I do most of the time.

      Reply
  1. Earl Moore

    Paul, I do understand and share your enjoyment of the white Aspens of Colorado. It’s almost a different yellow then any we have around here…somehow purer. Lovely abstract!

    I enjoy abstracts but don’t do many myself. I like you tend to do more “documentary” style photos…perhaps that needs to change. 🙂

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. Yes, I agree. It’s a very pure yellow that contrasts beautifully with the green pines and the deep blue skies of the southwest. It’s definitely different.

      Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Cedric. Unfortunately, it’s not terribly original. But I like it anyway!

      Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, John. Oh yes, the blue skies. I think the blue skies of southern Utah are unmatched. Combine them with the aspens and pines and red rock, and you find yourself compelled to just sit down somewhere and take it all in.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

