Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

The Peacock Incident

Peacock (1479)

Even with all of the bizarrely strange things going on in the world today (the shooting down of a commercial airliner over Ukraine, another ground war in Gaza, the immigration crisis on the Texas border, etc., etc.), it’s still possible, I guess, to be surprised by a local event.  I usually only pay attention to local news to see what the weather’s going to do tomorrow.  I don’t really care about local politics or local sports or other local events.  Generally speaking, all that stuff’s boring.  Hell, everything’s boring here in western NY.

At least until two nights ago.  That’s when we first became aware of this:  http://13wham.com//news/features/local-news/stories/peacock-shot-death-parma-1064.shtml

Yep, somebody blew away a peacock that was, apparently, minding its own business.  The question, clearly, is why?  Why kill a peacock that happens to live near where you’re building your new house?  Is it because it’s been pooping in what hasn’t even become a “yard” yet?  In an area that it’s been using as a toilet for years?  (Peacocks, by the way, live for about 20 years.)  And you do this in a residential area – with kids nearby?  I’m sorry – I just don’t get it.  Makes absolutely no sense.

The kicker in all of this is that we know the guy (and his wife).  We know them very well.  And that would be an understatement.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t make it any easier to understand.  Makes it a little more shocking, perhaps, but not any clearer.

The bird pictured here, of course, is not the “victim”.  I captured this guy a few months ago down near Charleston, SC.  As far as I know, he’s still very much alive and kicking.  Which makes him a lot better off than his western NY cousin.

I wonder, by the way, what the now deceased peacock might have thought about my friend’s 2nd Amendment rights……..

 

9 Responses to “The Peacock Incident”

  1. Earl Moore

    Paul, I hear the NRA is now passing out handguns to all Peacocks In the upper New York State area. Guns are not the problem…unarmed Peacocks are!

    Reply
  2. Paul Maxim

    So the answer to a bad guy with a gun is a good guy (er, peacock) with a gun. Damn, Earl. I wish I’d thought of that!

    In another bizarre twist, I just read today that 50 peacocks have been brutally killed over the last two years in a small town near Los Angeles. 20 of them in the last 6 months. That’s just weird.

    Reply
    • Earl Moore

      You didn’t need to think of it, Paul, it’s standard NRA doctrine for any gun violence…arm the other parties. Sounds life there’s a conspiracy against Peacocks, Paul. Such beautiful birds.

      Reply
  3. Cedric Canard

    That is one weird story. I feel your bewilderment. I’m wondering how I would react if someone I knew well did something like this. I’d say the first thing I would think is that I didn’t know them as well as I thought. This is truly weird.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Oh, we know him pretty well – he’s a relative. Generally speaking, he’s a good guy and a lot of fun to be around. And a generous person. But he’s been known to have “moments” from time to time. This just happens to be one of the stranger ones.

      Reply
  4. TomDills

    Truly a strange story, Paul. There’s just no way to account for the “Goofball Factor” when it comes to guns.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      That’s really the essence of the problem isn’t it, Tom. With the widespread proliferation of firearms in this country, how long will it be before any one of us encounters a “goofball”?

      Reply
  5. John

    Did he say why he felt the need to kill the beautiful creature? The only possible reason I could think of, outside of the pooping one you gave, is their cries can be loud and somewhat haunting (well, to me anyway). Nevertheless, that’s no excuse. Personally, I think he should be banned from ever owning another gun. Damn things.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      I haven’t spoken to him, John, but my wife talks frequently with his wife. And she doesn’t seem to want to discuss it. So no, we haven’t been able to get his side of the story.

      Actually, this isn’t his first rodeo with respect to inappropriate use of a firearm. I don’t know if possession of this one was legal or not. Heaven knows it shouldn’t have been.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

