Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Floating

Floating (1611, EM1)

I guess you could call them “summertime icebergs”.  They’re not, of course.  They seem to be made of clumps of pollen (and other stuff) that’s fallen into the lake from nearby trees.  Because of the sticky nature of pollen, you wind up with these circular shapes of white and yellowish goop.  Floating on the lake.

What really attracted me, though, was the visibility of the rocks on the bottom, especially while using a polarizer.  For me, it created an interesting abstraction.

Now be honest: If I hadn’t told you what this was, could you have figured it out?

4 Responses to “Floating”

  1. Kathryn

    Not even a chance that I would have been able to come up with a guess – so bizarre looking but also very beautiful.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Kathryn.

      So you’re done with school for the year, huh? I “silently” follow your Facebook posts – it must be exhausting to be a full-time teacher. I don’t think I could do it……….

      Any summer trips planned this year? We shouldn’t do it (it’s too far, costs way too much, etc., etc.) but we’re heading back to Yellowstone in August. Last year we really only spent 1 day in Yellowstone and it wasn’t nearly enough. So I gotta go back. I ain’t getting any younger!

      Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Beignets? Isn’t that the same as “fried dough”? Kind of like a doughnut on steroids, huh?

      I think I’ve gotten too old to eat that kind of stuff, John………

      Reply

Leave a Reply

