Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Slide Fire

Slide Rock SP (468, EM1)

This image was taken exactly 2 months ago today in Slide Rock SP just north of Sedona, AZ.  The only reason I’ve posted it is because I saw a very similar image on the news this morning.  The only difference between the two is that the picture I saw this morning had a great deal of smoke in the background.  Apparently, the remarkably beautiful area known as Oak Creek Canyon is on fire.  Worse, it’s out of control and growing.  Not only is this heavily forested canyon in grave danger – so are a number of very nice (and very expensive) houses.  They’ve also closed the northern route into Sedona (89A).  That will impact Sedona economically, especially with the Memorial Day weekend coming up.

Oak Creek Canyon is one of those places you can happily lose yourself in.  You don’t need to walk very far to get to places that are, except for the sound of running water, extremely quiet.  It’s a little like the Narrows at Zion.  You have to cross Oak Creek a number of times along the way (not always easy) but you can get to places like this:

Oak Creek 2 (500, EM1)

When I reached this point I simply sat down.  Just to watch the stream.  And listen.  It’s not a unique location, I’m sure, and it’s certainly not a unique image.  But both are good enough for me.

If I’m right, this particular spot is very close to the current fire.  If so, that’s a little sad.  Lying just behind this point of view is a magnificent pine forest.  Miles and miles of trees.  If they all burn, it just won’t be the same place for a very long time.

I’ve also read that the fire was “set”.  If so, my only question is: Why?  What possible reason could there be?  It’s just baffling.

2 Responses to “Slide Fire”

  1. Earl Moore

    Paul, I probably saw the same report this morning of the fires. I actually thought of your trips and wondered if it was the same locations. I hope they get this current fire under control quickly and I can’t imagine what would motivate a sick individual to knowingly start something like this,

    Lovely photos…I hope it looks like this next time.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. Yeah, I was really shocked when I first saw it on the news yesterday morning. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be for the on-the-ground firefighters in there. The canyons are steep and rocky – how they get down into them under such adverse conditions must be something to see. And from what I’ve seen on the news this morning they still haven’t contained much of the fire.

      I hate to sound cruel and vindictive, but if some idiot did purposely start this thing I kind of wish they’d get their ass caught in the middle of it……..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

