Small Church, Inspiring View

Chapel of the Transfiguration 1 (9819, 10-12-13)

The Chapel of the Transfiguration is a small Episcopal church that sits right on the edge of Grand Teton NP.  It’s an interesting building, but boy is it small.  It was built in 1925 to service the local dude ranches (both visitors and employees).  It’s still used and I think it’s a popular spot for weddings.  I suppose that you could do that so long as your invitation list was short – like maybe 20 or so.  Or if the ceremony was held outside.  It’s that small.

Its most intriguing feature, I think, is a large window in the back that looks out toward the mountains.  The church was sited specifically for that window.  It gives anyone inside the church a clear view of the Tetons beyond, and, in particular, peaks that are known as the Cathedral Group.  In case you didn’t know (I certainly didn’t), the Cathedral Group is made up of 8 of the 10 tallest peaks in the Teton Range, with Grand Teton itself (at nearly 14,000 feet) the tallest.  In this picture, the actual peaks are partially covered by clouds so you can’t see the pyramid – shaped tops of these mountains.  I love clouds, but in this case they’re a distraction.

Chapel of the Transfiguration 2 (9811, 10-12-13)

I’m not exactly a regular churchgoer, but I wouldn’t mind sitting in one of the pews of this chapel every Sunday and simply gazing out the window.  In fact, that’s what I did on this particular day.  It must really be something to see during the winter months.  But I don’t think I’ll be planning any January trips to Wyoming any time soon.  I have enough trouble just making it to the grocery store in the snow.

Leave a Reply

