Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Giving up the Ghost

Petrographs (195, 10-7-13)

It may be time to switch to Apple.  While on our trip, I had just a tiny problem with my PC laptop.  As in I couldn’t get it to boot up unless I was in “Safe Mode”.  If I tried to boot normally, I received the following message:

The User Profile Service service failed the logon.  User profile cannot be loaded.

Turns out that this little message can mean big trouble.  The guy who finally fixed it (near Salt Lake City) said that if I hadn’t been able to boot in Safe Mode he may not have been able to fix it at all.  I would have had to reload all of Windows.  As it was, he did get it fixed by deleting the old profile and creating a new one.  And it only cost me about $70.  Whoopee.

Anyway, that little bug is the main reason I haven’t posted anything in a while.  Even after the “fix”, things weren’t exactly normal.  Like email.  It simply wouldn’t work until we got home and I was able to find the right password to get back in.  And then it pulled up every message that was still in the system as “new” email.

Part of the problem, of course, is that I’m not exactly a computer whiz.  I’ll never be a hacker.  No one’s computer or files will ever be threatened by me.  I can get by on my own system so long as things stay relatively normal and stable.  If things start to blow up I’m in trouble.  And that’s essentially what happened.  Somehow my profile became corrupted and the whole thing came to a screeching halt.

I don’t know if the same thing can happen on an Apple system or not.  I don’t even know if I want to switch.  But a little investigation and research can’t hurt……….

Speaking of “giving up the ghost”, we were at the Colorado National Monument – essentially a federal park – on the day that the whole system shut down (a week ago today).  The place was relatively free of tourists, so we had an opportunity to talk at some length with a young ranger who was about to be furloughed.  I thought that she was remarkably composed and good-natured given what was about to happen.  They don’t pay park rangers all that well in the first place and now she wasn’t going to get anything at all.  Given the way things are currently going – as in not at all – she’s not likely to start collecting a salary again anytime soon.  That’s completely inexcusable, I think.  Because of some political knuckleheads things are going to get tough for this person and for a whole lot of other people.  It’s just not fair.  If congress is going to shut things down, they should lose their pay as well.  Of course, that’s against the law.  Congress gets paid no matter what.  Until hell freezes over.

As a result, we never got to Durango, CO and to Mesa Verde NP.  I really wanted to see that place.  Maybe next time.

The picture above also has something to do with ghosts.  It’s an image of a petrograph (on private property) near Escalante, UT.  If you look closely, you’ll see that there’s not just one person on a horse – there are 4 people on horses.  The one on the extreme right is very easy to see, but there are 3 more to the left of that one.  And each one appears to be more faded than the one to its right.  It was initially thought that that’s exactly what had happened; the paint had faded on the 3 to the left of the bright red one.  A local Paiute Indian, however, said no, that’s not the case at all.  They were originally made to look this way.  The image on the extreme right represents a living person.  As you move to the left, however, the images represent degrees of decreasing “mortalness”.  They are becoming part of the spirit world.  Interesting, I think.

The names (written in black) came much later.  A number of pioneer women (Mormons) used wagon wheel grease to create their own version of immortality.  What I don’t understand is why they felt compelled to do it in the same spot that the Native Americans had used.  Heck, there was plenty of wall space there to pick from.  Or maybe it was just an early form of graffiti………

2 Responses to “Giving up the Ghost”

  1. Cedric Canard

    Sorry to hear about your computer. I dare say that is typical of any technology these days.

    That is an interesting petrograph, interesting for what it represents and interesting for the Mormon “tagging” as it were.

    As for your current political situation… I simply cannot comment as it simply makes no sense to me that such a thing could happen in a country like the USA. I always imagined that it would be more likely to happen in Australia where our politicians behave more like spoiled brats than intelligent leaders. It would seem politicians are children the world over (and I don’t mean that in a good way).

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Don’t be too hard on your own politicians, Cedric. Compared to ours, they’re definitely acting like very wise adults. Interestingly, we met a number of people from other countries on this last trip. Most were very sympathetic but, like you and I, could not fathom the lunacy of the whole sordid mess. One guy – from England – thought it was an excellent example of “democracy run amok”. Can’t argue with that, I guess.

      Meanwhile, based on what I’ve read recently, the national parks and monuments are being assaulted by vandals and other idiots. Part of it is because people are still trying to enter them (they’re either hopelessly optimistic or living in caves). Thousands try to enter the Grand Canyon every day and are turned away. Some, apparently, decide to show their displeasure by sneaking in and doing a little damage. Very sad. And very unnecessary.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

