Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

In the Sandbox

In the Sandbox (8308)

White Sands National Monument, near Alamogordo, NM

This just might be the largest sandbox in the world.  A great place for a young family to come and play.  The only problem, as I see it, is to get the little buggers to leave at the end of the day and to then wash all that sand out of their hair.

6 Responses to “In the Sandbox”

  1. Markus Spring

    Fine composition and colors, Paul. And you waited for the right moments to make the people a really interesting series of silhouettes.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Markus.

      “Waited” is the right word. When I first saw them up on the dune they were all more or less bunched together. I saw the possibility of a good photograph but I needed some separation. Finally, after what seemed like a very long time, they started to move apart and the little boy started to run down the other side of the dune. And I caught it. For once in my life I was ready!

      Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Cedric. One of the things I “discovered” at White Sands is that the sand seems to turn a bluish color in the low light of sunrise and sunset. Which is convenient since it then somewhat matches the sky. With the orange slice in the middle I think it “works”.

      Reply
  2. Kathryn

    Clearly, you don’t like lighthouses enough to become a real beach bum – washing sand out everything is a reminder of the joy! I have visited White Sands several times – boyfriend from college who did engineering out there. It is a really amazing space!

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Well, I was kidding a little about washing out the sand. Barb actually got a little sandy herself sliding down the dunes on a saucer. I guess you’re never too old for yet another childhood, huh?

      As for the lighthouses, they’ve kind of lost their attraction since I discovered the desert. I still enjoy going to Maine, but I’d rather go to the desert. Weird, I know.

      We’d only been to White Sands once before – when I was in the army at Ft. Bliss (in El Paso). That was in the mid-60’s. “Amazing” is definitely the word for it. I just loved walking through the dunes away from the people. Talk about a quiet place……….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

