Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

A Walk in the Garden

Garden 1 (9410)

As we head east, back across the mountains and the endless plains beyond, we turned south from Denver to visit Colorado Springs and the Garden of the Gods.  I’d been contemplating this minor detour for a while and was finally convinced after seeing John Strong’s blog entry a couple of weeks ago.  As a Colorado resident I figured he knew what he was talking about.  Turned out to be a good assumption.  While it’s not in the same league as some of the more elaborate collections of exotic red rock (like Zion or Bryce or Arches in Utah), it definitely is a place worth visiting.  I wish we’d had more time to explore the place, but we only had a few hours.  It has some amazing formations, beautiful walking paths, rock climbing facilities, and of course a marvelous view of Pikes Peak.

Garden 2 (9422)

4 Responses to “A Walk in the Garden”

  1. John - Visual Notebook

    Glad to see you made it Paul. I definitely agree the Garden isn’t in the same league as, say, Monument Valley or Zion or about all of Utah, but it’s here and it’s near! Of course, we have Red Rocks and Roxborough Park here in Denver – so it can placate someone like me until I can get back to the Moab/New Mexico areas, which I sadly neglect…

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Yes, “here and near” is an important consideration most of the time. I know I’d take advantage of these spots if I lived in Colorado. Not to mention Colorado National Monument near Grand Junction. Although maybe not today – looks like your weather right now might not be as nice as when we passed through last Thursday……..

      Reply
  2. Earl

    Paul, I’ve not been commenting but I have been following and appreciating your wonderful photos from this trip — and I’ve added a few more places in the old bucket.

    I like the touch of sunshine on the edge of the rock formation.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. Sadly, the trip is now over. Nothing left to do but go through a lot of images in more detail. I have to say we were extremely lucky, though. Our weather was phenomenal pretty much all the time. Warm, with sun, and just the right amount of clouds when I was looking for them. As my wife says, if we’d left a week earlier or a week later it wouldn’t have been nearly as nice. Sometimes the gods do smile on us………….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

