Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Sentinels

Sentinels (8313)

If you like cacti, this is the place to be.  All kinds and all over the place.  They’re everywhere………

Me?  Not so much.  Even a day and a half seemed like too much time here (Tucson), although the weather is nice (especially compared to Rochester right now).  Temperatures in the upper 80’s and 90’s can be a bit of a shock when you’ve been dodging snowflakes for a few months.  But I think I can live without the cacti.  Although the Saguaros seem almost human when you look at them and they are, of course, fairly tall.

But in my humble opinion, if you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all.

On to California………….

4 Responses to “Sentinels”

  1. Earl

    Paul, it’s been years since I’ve been anywhere around cacti, except for a few poor examples in gardens around here, so I can still appreciate their form. I’d seen on the weather it’s been very warm out there and I was wondering if you were enjoying the change from NY. Look forward to photos from California.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Yes, we definitely picked the right time to vacate NY – I’m pretty sure it’s snowing there today. Here in 29 Palms, CA (about 140 miles east of LA) it’s in the mid 80’s and sunny. Tomorrow we head slightly north to Las Vegas where it’s a bit cooler (only in the 70’s). It’ll be rough but I think we can handle it……….

      Reply
  2. doncooperscave

    Got some cacti here at our place in Florida, one has survived numerous transplants. I saw pictures of the snow in NY and then took the dogs out with shorts and sandles around 80

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Gee, Don, I hope the cacti that were being transplanted weren’t as big as these suckers. These guys are usually over 20 feet tall.

      It’s funny – last year we went to the Gulf about this time and western NY was in the 70’s for a couple of weeks. A lot of stuff started growing when it shouldn’t have. Not this year, though. According to my daughter, the weather at home is cold, snowy, and miserable. This year I’m happy to be where I am. I just hope NY gets better before I have to go back!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

