Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

An Apple a Day

An Apple a Day (2883)

4 Responses to “An Apple a Day”

  1. John Linn

    Perfect bokeh. It is unusual to see such perfect circles. That patterns are great too. Interesting photo and I like that I can look into the apple and see hints of Christmas. Looks good in b&w… did you try color too?

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, John. Yes, you’re right. The circles are perfect. And yes, the picture was taken at Christmas a few years ago. I’ve always liked the image but I wasn’t crazy about the color (it was mostly a yellowish orange). I just couldn’t seem to get it the way I wanted. But I never tried it in b & w until a few days ago. When I did, I found I liked it a whole lot better!

      The apple is Steuben glass (I used to work at Corning). Supposedly, it’s the most perfect glass in the world. I don’t think they make it anymore, though. The bright spot in the upper left corner of the apple, by the way, is an upside down reflection of my TV.

      Reply
  2. Cedric Canard

    That must be quite a lens (multi-bladed iris) to create such perfect OOF circles or you shot wide open. Either way the result is delightful and the black & white treatment works a treat.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Cedric. The lens was a Canon 24 – 105 mm f/4L set at 105 mm and wide open. Since I was only about 10 inches from the apple, almost everything is out of focus (including part of the apple).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

