Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Flow Lines

Flow Lines (7530)

It’s no secret that I’m fascinated by the power of water.  I’m drawn to it like a child drawn to a puddle.  Whether it’s in the form of an ocean, a stream, a waterfall, or even just a gentle rain, I have to stop and look.  I have to watch it work its magic.  For me water is like Time – it changes everything it touches.  And, as I’ve said before, water always “wins”.  It may take millions of years, but it always wins.  Just as time always wins.

I’m also intrigued by the way water works in the desert.  It’s different.  Here at home, in the northeast, the water is always present.  If I go to the river or to the lake, I know that the water will be there.  I can touch it.  I can hear it.  I can see it.  It’s never not there.

Not so in the desert.  In the desert, you usually only see what the water has done.  You generally only see what it has sculpted.  Like Antelope Canyon or The Narrows in Zion NP or the amazing hoodoos of Bryce.  You know that the water visits from time to time, but it’s not a permanent resident.  It leaves evidence that it was there, but that’s all.  And for humans, that can be a good thing.  You don’t want to be in some of these places when the water decides to call.

But sometimes it’s a “peaceful” visit.  Like in this shallow wash in Zion.  It’s not deep enough or steep enough to create dangerous flows, but it does allow for some interesting patterns to form.  And it can make the most beautiful sand you’ve ever seen.

4 Responses to “Flow Lines”

  1. ken bello

    First, this photo is outstanding and I like the mild sepia tone applied. It’s also an odd coincidence that I was out photographing some erosion in the sand at the beach this afternoon, although what I found was not as dramatic as this. But I may steal the sepia idea for them anyway.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Ken. Isn’t it amazing that you were out on the beach making pictures on December 3rd. And today it’s going to be 60 or better. Just plain weird……

      It’s also interesting to see “water’s work” down in the southern tier. It’s shale there and not sandstone, but the effects can be just as dramatic. If you like color, though, it’s not quite as eyepopping as Utah!

      Reply
  2. Kathryn J

    Great pictures! I really enjoy your blog – the pics and the writing.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Kathryn – great to hear from you again! I was thinking about you and the old gang recently, probably because the winter solstice is nearly upon us. You were the first one who made me realize that humans have actually celebrated that day for centuries.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

