Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Still Looking Good

I have to confess that I haven’t used my Olympus OMD EM-5 as much as I should have.  Even on our last trip west it didn’t come out of the bag all that often.  I guess I figured that if the shot had any chance at all of being any good I’d go with what I was used to – the Canon 5D MK II.  It’s heavy as hell with the battery pack, but I’m used to that.  So it got most of the work.

There was one other reason as well – the EM-5 is much smaller than I’m used to.  Compared to the Canon, you’d hardly know you had a camera in your hands.  And I really don’t care for how it feels when you decide to go vertical with it.  It just seems awkward.

In any case, I’ve ordered the battery pack made for the EM-5 (and, of course, an additional battery).  Aside from adding a little weight, the battery pack provides more stuff to hang on to and it will make handheld vertical shots much easier.  It will still be much lighter than the Canon, though.  Which is a good thing.

In terms of image quality, I really can’t complain.  It still looks very good, even though it’s sensor size is only about 1/3 that of the 5D MK II.  I think that’s why (if you look hard enough) you can see little bits of noise in the image as soon as the ISO setting starts to increase above 250 or so.  Nothing at all serious, but it’s there.

The image above was shot with the EM-5 in Torrey, Utah.  For some reason, there are a fair number of old signs in that town.  Actually, the whole town is kind of antiqueish.

I’ve never heard of “wool soap”.  Wikipedia says it’s soap wrapped in a couple of layers of wool.  But Wikipedia doesn’t say that it floats (or floated).  Maybe there was more than 1 kind.  Who knows.  If you happen to find any in the store, let me know.

Call me a dirty old man if you want, but what drew my attention to this sign is the picture on the left.  If you look at it closely, you might start to wonder what’s going on.  I mean, why doesn’t the kid on the right have any pants on?  And what are they doing with their hands?

5 Responses to “Still Looking Good”

  1. Paul

    LMAO! You dirty old man! 🙂 I don’t have an EM-5, but I do have a Nikon P-510 and it’s quite different than handling the D700, but I like it, especially because of the zoom range. When shooting at ISO 100, it provides a pretty decent shot. I’ve printed a few of them and liked what I see. Of course, I printed them 6 x 9.

    Naturally, on my trip to The Grand Canyon and beyond, I will be taking the D700 for those morning/evening tripod shots and the P-510 for the walking/gawking camera.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Guilty as charged, I guess. When I saw the sign I was thinking that this would never make it on TV today. “Political correctness” just wouldn’t allow it. Maybe we haven’t progressed as much as we’d like to think……..

      The good – and bad – thing about the EM-5 is that you can buy all kinds of lenses for it. Just what I need – another money magnet. It’s an amazing little gizmo, though.

      You’ve never seen the Grand Canyon? I agree with Teddy Roosevelt – everyone should see it at least once in their life. I hope that when you’re there the skies are reasonably haze free. Clarity, in my opinion, matters (photographically).

      Reply
      • Paul

        Yeah, I’ve been to the North Rim of The Grand Canyon before, but at this time of year it’s pretty much snowed in and is accessible only through hiking. Rather than try that, I think that heading to the south side would work better. 😀

        Yes, those cameras can indeed be money magnets!

        Reply
  2. TomDills

    Too funny, Paul! I was struck by the idea of soap for the toilet….

    I’m going to go out on a limb just a bit to opine that the photo is intended to illustrate the caption below it by showing woolens that have shrunk in the wash. It’s a little hard to tell about the hands, though! 🙂

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Yes, I was a little puzzled too by the “toilet” reference. That word must have had some different connotations back then.

      By the way, I love your gallery (on your site) of signs you’ve run across in your travels. Some of them are really humorous.

      You also have an image in one of your sections showing 2 deer crossing a pond at Chincoteague Wildlife Refuge. I almost fell off my chair when I saw it. I have an almost identical picture that I took some years ago. The only difference is that the deer were walking from left to right and mine has no heron in it. Otherwise, it’s the same. Amazing……..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

