“Change we can believe in”

90 degree angle, Buttermilk Creek

No, this isn’t a political ad for President Obama.  I’ll probably vote for the guy (again) but I don’t know that I ever bought into that particular slogan.  I learned a long time ago that guys running for President will promise all kinds of things – all those “good changes” that will benefit me and my wallet – and then universally fail to deliver.  Sometimes it ain’t their fault, but that’s usually what happens.  Political change moves very slowly in this country.  Four years in office just isn’t enough time.  And that’s not always a bad thing.

Election year politics is interesting, but it doesn’t get my juices flowing.  But a stream that makes a 90 degree turn does.  I mean, how the heck did it do that?  I thought nature was supposed to be “messy”.  What’s messy about a 90 degree angle?  It’s like an engineer built this thing.

Or how about all those incredible arches on the Colorado Plateau?  Or the hoodoos in Bryce or Goblin Valley?  Or the geysers and paint pots and fumaroles in Yellowstone?

Now there’s some serious evidence of “change we can believe in”.  Nature just never quits.  It just keeps changing stuff.  It may take a few million years, but who’s counting?

Anyhow, someday someone’s going to have to explain to me why this stream “decided” to make a sharp right turn right here.  I have a feeling it has something to do with “path of least resistance” and the relative hardness of the rock in this area, but it still seems a little strange.  So I’ve been looking at geology books.  Damn.  A hell of a time to decide on a new career path…………..

Leave a Reply

