Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Street Music in the Quarter

Street music in the French Quarter, New Orleans

We spent 2 days in “The Big Easy”.  Certainly not nearly enough to get to know the place.  But what a town full of characters and life.  The place itself is both beautiful and ugly (as are all large cities, I guess).  It has some of the most beautiful architecture I’ve ever seen and then there are places – like Bourbon Street in the Quarter – that are  interesting but nasty.  “Nasty” because it’s dirty and it smells.  Not to mention all the weird folks who are very often talking  to themselves when they’re not trying to get you to give them money.  Or asking for cigarettes.

But perhaps the most interesting people are the street musicians.  Groups like this one can be found all over the Quarter at almost any time of day.  At least that’s what I was told – when it was dark I wasn’t out there for very long.  Some of them are very, very good and they seem to make a lot of money doing it.  We “contributed” to a jazz group playing down in Jackson Square near the St. Louis Cathedral.  I even used my camera to capture them on video.  Sound isn’t all that great, though.

All in all, an interesting place.  These guys, by the way, seemed to be playing some kind of Appalachian “hill” music.  Most of the groups play mostly jazz, but not these guys.  Maybe that’s why they were all by themselves on a small street away from the bigger crowds.

2 Responses to “Street Music in the Quarter”

  1. Earl

    Paul, it looks hot to me. New Orleans is one of those places I’d like to visit but wouldn’t want to live there. Don’t have any convincing logic for feeling that way, but I do. I do like listening to street musicians.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Nope, I definitely wouldn’t live there, either. I was told that the French Quarter is roughly 6 feet below sea level. And one guy told me that when Katrina hit they did “blow” the levees to save most of the city. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but it isn’t what I heard on the nightly news.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

