Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Tunnel Vision II

RR Bridge and Tunnel, Harpers Ferry, WV

Believe it or not, this was one of the first images I ever took with a digital SLR camera (the 6 MP Canon D60).  This was also the first time I’d ever left home without a film camera packed away somewhere (summer, 2003).  For some reason, it seems like a very long time ago.  A few cameras “ago” as well.

The D60 was a pretty good camera, as I remember.  It was heavier than my old Olympus film SLR, but much more interesting to use.  You could see what you’d taken a second after you’d pressed the shutter.  My first experience with “real-time” photographic education, especially with respect to exposure.

Most of what I took back then is gathering digital dust on a backup drive.  Definitely in the “not great” category (even by my standards).  But I’ll still look at them from time to time and, as in this case, see how they fare in a black and white format.  At some point, I may have to return to Harpers Ferry.  It’s an interesting spot – lots of old buildings and a lot of history.

I wonder if the trains are still running (they were in 2003).  Nothing like seeing a train come screaming out of a long tunnel…………

2 Responses to “Tunnel Vision II”

  1. Earl

    I think my very first digital camera was a 1.8mp point and shoot. I don’t even remember the model and make. This is a nice photo. Did you do much post-processing? Isn’t it amazing the extent people will go to leave their graffiti or mark on something?

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. No, not much post – processing at all. I didn’t even use Silver Efex Pro 2 on this one. Exposure was good and I liked the contrast as it was, so I just desaturated everything but red and magenta and did a little sharpening. That was it.

      Yeah, it’s kind of like dogs peeing on telephone poles to mark their territory. I guess they figure the world is their private playground. It’s not exactly the same thing, but I just saw a video of some people swinging on ropes from the top of one of the larger arches in Utah (near Moab). Here’s hoping that one of these days the rope breaks…….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

