Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

“I’m a god”

Here we are again.  February 2nd.  Groundhog Day.  An unofficial holiday celebrating one of my favorite movies.  I just have to find a way to watch the damn thing without annoying my wife (she hates it).  And the scene shown in the above segment is probably my favorite.

Watching it, you have to wonder how long this poor guy has actually relived the same day.  Assuming, of course, that you can swallow the plot (my wife can’t).  But if you can, how long has it been?  One year?  Two? Maybe 10 or 20?  He knows everything about everybody in Punxsutawney, he’s an accomplished pianist, he speaks more than 1 language, etc., etc.  And he can’t be killed.  He is, as he says, a “god”.

I gotta think there’s a metaphor in there somewhere for photographers.  Observe, observe, and then observe some more.  Learn from what you observe.  Photograph what you’ve learned.  Be a “god”.

2 Responses to ““I’m a god””

  1. ken bello

    This movie is a national treasure as far as I’m concerned. Although I’ve seen it many times before, it’s always funny and touching.
    As for being “a god”, I have a long ways to go.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      I agree about the movie, Ken. I think I like it because it has more metaphors than a year’s worth of “House” episodes.

      Don’t sell yourself short on the “god” thing. I think we’re all a lot closer than we’re “allowed” to believe……….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

