Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

A Horse With No Name

Horse, Monument Valley

I’ve been through the desert on a horse with no name,

It felt good to be out of the rain.

In the desert you can remember your name

‘Cause there ain’t no one for to give you no pain.

The lyrics, of course, are from the song “A Horse with no Name”, by America.  It’s an old song for sure (mid 70’s, I think), but it was the first thing I thought of when I saw this creature wandering around loose near the main parking lot at Monument Valley.  She was a very well behaved animal, ignoring all the people around her even when they tried to offer food.  If you walked toward her, she’d move away.  If you stayed still, she might come fairly close.  She also didn’t care much for kids.  She gave the rugrats a very, very wide berth.

She also managed to spook my wife a bit – she actually saw the horse before I did.  I turned around and there was Barbara heading toward the horse to get a picture.  But the horse wasn’t interested in posing – it just walked right past her.

As you can see, my wife was ready to get out of the way quickly (look at her right foot) if the horse decided to eat her camera.

When I took the top image, I thought I had a reasonably good shot of a horse in its natural environment.  Heck, it was Monument Valley for heaven’s sake.  With a little imagination, you might “see” John Wayne wander up, fully decked out in a U. S. cavalry uniform, all ready to saddle up.  Or maybe a Navajo hunter, dressed to hunt buffalo.  If you were willing to pay, you wouldn’t even need the “imagination” part.  For a fee, some of the Navajo will take you out into the valley and pose for you (on a horse).

Looking at the picture more closely, however, reveals 2 campers putzing along in the background.  So much for the John Wayne fantasy.

I did like the horse, though.  She had character.  And she made me remember a song that I hadn’t thought of (or heard) in a very long time.

2 Responses to “A Horse With No Name”

  1. Earl

    I liked America, back during the day. “A Horse with no Name” along with “Ventura Highway,” “Sister Golden Hair,” and “Tin Man” were/are all good traveling/driving music. I may have to see if I don’t have a few of them in my iTunes library and listen to them again.

    This horse must be getting some supplement feed somewhere…doesn’t look like much in the area to graze on. I do like that first photo…except for those RV’s in the background. 🙂

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. Yeah, I could have “removed” the RV’s, but decided I like it better with them in it. Not a great image, anyway. Just a nice reminder (to me) of how much we enjoyed that spot. Especially the John Wayne movies they showed outdoors at night.

      I also “rediscovered” America. Definitely takes me back in time to a life that, at least in retrospect, seemed a lot simpler.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

