Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Missed It

Chapel of the Holy Cross, Sedona, AZ

One of the “attractions” in Sedona, AZ that tourists love to visit is the Chapel of the Holy Cross.  It’s a Catholic church that’s literally embedded in the red rock that surrounds it.  It’s also very small.  I doubt the actual chapel would hold more than 30 people during a normal service.  Heck, the multiple parking lots that surround it dwarf the church itself.  All the parking spaces are for the tourists, I guess.

On our last day in Sedona, we decided to take a look.  Not being a church-goer personally, I’d avoided the place on our previous visits.  Why go see a church when there’s so much other stuff that’s more interesting?  Well, we ran out of “stuff”.  So off we went.

Damn.  It was like trying to park at Ralph Wilson Stadium during a Bills game.  They even had a couple of guys directing traffic.  Even after we got the Jeep parked, we still had to walk a ways to actually get to the church.  And it was uphill.

All of which is irrelevant.  The point I want to make has to do with this photograph.  Again, it isn’t mine.  My wife saw it.  I didn’t.  While I was trying to see (and photograph) the “whole” thing, she walked into the small chapel and found this.

In my opinion, she managed to turn an iconic tourist attraction into something a little more personal.  Good composition, too.

Maybe I should start following her around……….

2 Responses to “Missed It”

  1. ken bello

    After looking at this photo for awhile and before I read the post, I was thinking to myself “Damn, that’s really good”. Now you will have to relay that message to your wife.
    I went to this Chapel 8-10 years ago while I was on a business trip to Phoenix. I thought it was amazing at the time and when I returned a few years later, I took my wife up there and she expressed the same feeling. The first time I went, there wasn’t another soul around and I had the place all to myself. I doubt if that will ever happen again.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Ken. I will definitely pass that on. I’ve taken that ride from Phoenix to Sedona. Not a bad drive, all things considered. Much better than driving around here in this white stuff.

      Hard to believe that you were there when the place was empty. Of course, 20 years ago nobody went to Sedona. Now everybody does. Even John McCain lives there. Actually, lots of people with money live there. Can’t blame them, I guess.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

