Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Desert Storm

Storm clouds, Red Rock Canyon

No, not the 1990 war against Iraq.  This was the actual “desert storm” that my wife and I ran into a couple of months ago in Red Rock Canyon (just outside Las Vegas).  I’ve already posted once on this somewhat unusual event here (the snow in October), but the image you see above isn’t mine.  My wife took it with her Canon G10.

Believe it or not, I’m still going through those “trip” photographs.  Especially hers.  When I saw this one, I decided it might translate well into black and white (cloud images generally do, I think).

I can’t remember ever seeing this that day.  Which is surprising, since I’m always looking for big, nasty looking clouds.  The damn snow (off in the other direction) must have had me completely mesmerized.  Fortunately, she did see it.

Good shot, kiddo.

6 Responses to “Desert Storm”

  1. John

    Ah, my favorite type of photo, with clouds playing a dramatic role in making the mood and generating an original, unrepeatable image. Beautiful!

    Thanks,
    John

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, John. Interestingly, my wife usually isn’t “big” on cloud images. She prefers clear, blue sky – especially in the desert. But on this day, she had no choice.

      Reply
  2. Ken Bello

    I love the B&W treatment on this, Paul, but most of the credit has to go to your wife for seeing this and getting a great shot. Perhaps she needs her own blog!

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Ken. No, not likely to start her own blog. She isn’t a computer person (although she loves her iPad). And believe it or not, she’s a bit of a “twig” photographer. She sometimes likes messy pictures. But very often, she sees stuff that I miss. So I guess I’ll keep taking her along………

      Reply
  3. Earl

    Beautiful photo and great choice for the B&W — kudos’s to your wife. When my wife and I travel I always like her having her own camera and later going over her photos. It’s interesting noting what she saw and focused upon compared to my own vision of the scene or event. Even when she doesn’t have a camera I always welcome her input and often find she helps me see a little differently.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. I agree. Sometimes my wife will point out something that I’ve completely missed, and sometimes I won’t see it until I’ve looked at her pictures.

      Of course, there are also times when I’ll ask her, “What were you thinking?” Especially when she tries to take an image that contains about 12 stops of light (which she likes to try to do from time to time). I think I must have told her about a thousand times to keep the sky out of an image if there are also deep shadows to contend with. Awfully hard to “fix” some of those.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

