Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Sponsored by the Number “11”

Buttermilk Creek, Ithaca, NY

If you happen to be superstitious – and who among us isn’t, to some degree – then today might be your “lucky day”.  It is, of course, 11-11-11.  One of those dates on the calendar that’s a perfect palindrome.  A big day for gamblers and people who want to get married.  Although sometimes it’s difficult to tell the difference between gamblers and newlyweds.  Both groups tend to do the same thing – roll the dice and hope that something good happens.  Anyway, Las Vegas will be busy today – on both fronts.

It’s also Veterans Day.  No mail delivery, the banks are closed, and kids are off from school.  I’m still waiting for someone to explain that last one to me.  Why in the hell are kids off today?  Are they veterans?  Are they even “celebrating” the day?  Wouldn’t it make more sense to keep them in school and maybe teach them about America’s wars and the people who fought them?  Instead of sitting at home playing war games on their PS3’s?

Well, at least 11-11-11 was lucky for the kids.  As for me, I’m not so sure.  It snowed today.

7 Responses to “Sponsored by the Number “11””

  1. themiddlegeneration

    I agree with your thought about how the kids could better use their time today. I suggested to my son (who just got the latest war video game if you read my post) that we go to the parade and see some real soldiers. As you probably guessed, he was not in the least bit interested. Since this is his day off, he just wants to relax and- as you say- play his video war games.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Sounds like your son and my two grandsons have that particular game in common. In fact, we had to pick the game up for him at Gamestop on the day it was released (their Mom was out of town). They haven’t stopped playing it since. Drives me crazy……

      Reply
  2. Colin Griffiths

    Your comment about gamblers and newlyweds make me chuckle, but I have to say I for one new I was onto a good thing when I married and I’ve never gambled in my life. I wouldn’t admit all of that to the wife though; however I suspect she knows!

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Yes, some of us get lucky, Colin. My wife and I have been married for 45 years now. I was thinking more about people like Kim Kardashian, who could barely hold on for a month or so.

      As for the gambling, well that can be kind of fun sometimes……

      Reply
  3. Markus Spring

    Paul, may I disagree about the school topic? If they would gain more insight, they might be not willing to sacrifice so much any more… Better keep them out of school.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Well, I suppose there’s some logic to that. But don’t worry – even if they went to school more often, I don’t know that we’d have to be too concerned about “insight”. Not here in our schools, anyway.

      Reply
      • Markus

        Paul, I almost had forgotten that you are as at least as realistic as I am 😉

        But here the veterans activities are generally less acceptable in my eyes. Americans at least fought for freedom in WWII (let’s just avoid discussion about later wars), but here in Germany voices that welcome the defeat in that terrible war are still a minuscule minority. Instead many of the veterans dream of heroic acts of war craftsmanship, sometimes lacking the knowledge but more often the insight even on the background of WWII.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

