Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

No Delays Here

Airport, Bryce Canyon

As I continue to wade through all the images from our time in the desert, I sometimes find one or two that make me smile.  A picture that reminds me of something unexpected or unanticipated that happened while we were looking for something else.  That little gem that you never planned or imagined during all that pre-trip preparation.  Sort of like the snow we encountered later on near Las Vegas.

This one was like that.  We were returning to our hotel in Bryce, after a day trip to Cedar Breaks and then Red Canyon, when, as my mother-in-law would say, the sky “got all funny”.  Weird looking clouds and a whole lot of verga (rain that never hits the ground).  And most of it was directly above the Bryce Canyon Airport.  Well, they call it an airport.  It’s a runway with a couple of buildings.  I don’t think anything commercial flies in or out – it’s just for small, private aircraft used for sightseeing.  If you’re coming from another part of the country and want to see Bryce, you fly into Las Vegas or Denver and then drive to it (or, like us, you drive all the way).  Most people do what’s called the “Grand Circle” that way.  They fly into LV, rent a car, and head for Zion and Bryce and the Grand Canyon and all the other stuff.  If you look at a map, you’ll see that it can be made into a big circle.

In any case, we stopped near the airport to have a look and take a few pictures.  This was one of them.  Until yesterday, I’d forgotten about this little episode.  Note that the “weather” had no effect on incoming or outgoing flights.  Or anything else, for that matter.

As I’ve said a few times before, moisture in the desert atmosphere can create some interesting (and intoxicating) aromas.

If it could be bottled and marketed, I think I could make some money.

2 Responses to “No Delays Here”

  1. Earl

    Yeah, the top half of this photo doesn’t look like it belongs with the bottom half. 🙂 Certainly one of those unique shots you can’t plan for — I like it!

    Paul, when I read of you’re trips to the southwest and how much you love the scenery and area I have to wonder if you haven’t considered moving there?

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. You have a point – the top and bottom look like they might be from different scenes. Hadn’t thought of that……

      We more than “considered” moving, Earl. We actually did move out there for a year (2007 – 2008). We lived in Las Vegas and loved it (our son lives there). I found a great job and I’m pretty sure we’d still be there if problems back here on the “homefront” hadn’t popped up. So we decided to move back. That’s why we keep driving back out there. It’s our “other home”. As I’ve said, it’s always a sad day when we have to start driving back east. It might also explain why I sometimes get a little cranky when I’m talking about western NY. At one point, I’d thought I’d left it behind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

