Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

“Lower” is Better, Part II

Lower Antelope Canyon

We’re now at Bryce – have been for two days – and I’m still taking lots of images, but I keep going back to the ones from Antelope Canyon.  I have a feeling I’m going to be hardpressed to do any better than those.  I’m not sure I have any “bad” photographs from that location (except perhaps a few that are slightly out of focus), but there are some that I really like.  This one, for instance.

I took quite a few at this spot.  I remember it because setting up the tripod there was a bit of a trick.  There’s very little space to work in much of that canyon.  And it is definitely work.  When you’re 6 feet, 6 inches tall, and you’re climbing around in what feels like a rabbit hole, things get awkward.  I was tired and dusty when I got out.

Again, no adjustments here other than a little sharpening.  I tried other color temperatures (thanks Christian and Carl), but I wound up leaving it as it was.  The bright yellow part at the top is, of course, where the sun was coming in.  But the sun rarely hits the bottom of the canyon except in certain areas.  I’ve seen a lot of images where a sunbeam is the highlight of the frame, but to do that you need an “assistant”.  Someone has to throw sand at the beam to make it visible.  Otherwise it won’t show up.

After Antelope Canyon, my wife and I went on a little smooth-water rafting trip down the Colorado.  With a few hundred other folks.  Many of whom were the dreaded “bus people”.  You know, I think they could create a new kind of horror show for TV using these characters.  Just call it “Bus People Gone Mad” or something.

They are, too.  They’re all crazy.  But that’s another story.

5 Responses to ““Lower” is Better, Part II”

  1. Earl

    It sounds like you and the wife are having a great time…you’re certainly getting some great photos! This photo pulls you into it towards that beautiful sunlit center. Wonderful.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Earl. I hope you do get to visit this part of the U. S. soon. At least you might be able to escape the rain that seems to be tormenting much of the east coast these days! Nice and dry (and warm) here, as usual.

      Reply
  2. ken bello

    This shot is certainly worth all the effort it took to get it. Well done, Paul.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Ken. Believe it or not, I was thinking about you when I checked Rochester’s weather this morning. Low 50’s, windy, and rain on the way (again). We’re headed to Zion today (upper 80’s and partly cloudy). I think I remember now that that’s why we make these fall trips. KInd of extends the summer…..

      By the way, I’ve really enjoyed your “Bench” images. I haven’t commented because the internet access is sometimes a bit slow. But they’re very good.

      Reply
      • ken bello

        Thanks, Paul. The low 50’s is all we can do today, add on and off drizzle, and ya got a typical early fall day around here. Supposed to warm up later in the week but we’ll see.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

