Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Ipad Photography

Shooting with an Ipad 2

We’re currently in Sin City.  Eating too much, drinking a bit, and gambling a bit.  Kind of a major cultural shift from what we’ve been doing up until now.  Also, it’s a bit on the nippy side here.  People are wandering around in winter coats at night.  Last week, it was in the 90’s.  So much for the sunny, warm, southwest.

And the higher elevations are seeing their first snows of the year.  Last week we visited Cedar Breaks, which tops out at nearly 11,000 feet.  It was in the high 60’s then.  According to the Weather Channel, they’re getting a couple of inches of snow today.  It’s warmer back in Rochester-land, I think.

We were at Bryce when we drove up to Cedar Breaks.  It was there – in Bryce – that I saw these 2 guys standing up on a ledge taking pictures at sunset.  One of them had a regular DSLR, but the other was holding what appears to be an Ipad (well, an Ipad 2).  He was taking pictures with it.  I’ve never seen anyone doing that before.  Ipads are amazing little pieces of technology, but the picture taking function isn’t one of those things that I’d expect to see being used in a national park.

I’d love to have seen the results…………

11 Responses to “Ipad Photography”

  1. Markus Spring

    Simply a marvellous image, in my eyes just showing the ultimate ape-position for taking a photograph. I mean, holding that little P&S at arms length is already a bit arkward, but a tablet??? Well, at least a matching image to celebrate Steve Jobs, whom many mistake for a saint or messiah. Without doubt he was clever and understood a lot of design and human-machine interaction (and monetarisation of those assets), but the system he built could also be described as a closed shop or even a jail.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Markus. Your description of how most picture taking is done these days – holding the camera at arm’s length – is one thing. What I’ve been seeing more and more of is people arriving at some iconic spot, jumping out of their vehicle (or more likely, a bus), and pointing their little cameras in every possible direction and clicking away. Then they jump back into their car (or bus) and head to the next spot. I don’t think they ever really “see” anything. They’re just recording something that a book or guide told them to record. In my mind, a very sad commentary on life today.

      Reply
      • Markus Spring

        Paul, according to my observations this is an old phenomenon: it was like this already 30+ years ago when I travelled to Florence, only those people used real cameras then and no phones, tablets and the like. Superficiality has always been there, maybe you and I are only less easy with it (can make one lonesome…).
        I always try (but not always successfully) to become not overly pessimistic and tell myself that in such a crowd of snap-and-hop-to-the-next-spot there will be always some that get impregnated by what they see, and maybe much later they learn to slow down and appreciate. And so among those millions of camera owners there is a number of people that feel a vision and try to follow and express it. We can enjoy it also here on the web – I think our reading lists are proof of my assumption.

        Reply
  2. Ken Bello

    I find this photo very amusing but I also think it’s a scene we may be seeing a lot more of in the future. Sometimes I can identify with the folks that jump out of the car (or bus) to take a few photos. On a bus tour (or a boat tour or cruise, whatever) you only have a certain amount of time at each location and you want to make the most of it. It’s not my kind of thing, but we have friends that do it all the time and they think nothing of it, they want to cram in as much sightseeing as they can in 4 or 5 days, no matter where they are. Photographers are a different sort, wanting the best light, few distractions (other people in the shot) and the time to linger and get it just right. You’ll never see us on a tour.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Nor us, Ken. No bus rides for me! We also know people who take these “tours”, and they wonder why we won’t. Like Spam in a can, in my mind. Somebody telling me what to look at and when and under what kinds of conditions. Might as well do your “sightseeing” on the web. And man, can these folks clutter up the landscape…….

      Reply
  3. Don Cooper

    “Eating too much, drinking a bit, and gambling a bit.” Sounds like fun, as they say, “Enjoy life now – it has an expiration date!”

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Exactly, Don. Who knows when the ride will end? Especially for us “older” explorers? Not that Las Vegas needs much in the way of further exploration, though.

      Reply
  4. Paul Lester

    A very nice shot, Paul. It is rather iconic of the way photos are made today, at least by the younger crowd; That said, though, I find some of my photography leaning towards the iPhone and I am able to get shots that I really like, not simply snapshots. Since I got my iPhone, back in March of this year, I’ve taken some 500 photos with it. It’s an enjoyable experience, I think, regardless of the platform. Expression is expression. Great post!

    Reply
  5. Markus

    Paul, just now I got an explanation for that strange posture of that ipadist: This tablet can have astronomic software, and if you point it at the sky, it can highlight constellations and show additional informations about the stars. Talk about augmented reality…

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Good point, Markus. Now I’ll be forever wondering what the guy was actually doing with the thing……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

