Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

“Looking for the Summer”

In my last post, I briefly mentioned Dire Straits and John Mellencamp.   A  friend of mine (Steve Weeks), who is roughly in the same age group I am, sent me a note mentioning another “vintage” artist – Chris Rea.  In particular, he mentioned a song titled Looking for the Summer.  I listened to it and instantly loved it.  I liked it so much that I thought it would be great background music for a slideshow featuring “summer” themes.  And what could be more summery than wandering around the beaches of Maine.

Hope you enjoy it.

3 Responses to ““Looking for the Summer””

  1. Steve Weeks

    Very nice slide show and I am sure the pair of Seagulls are waiting for all the good treats left on the beach. The Maine coast is a most fitting place for waiting on the summer.

    A little history on Chris Rea; he was born in 1951, so a little early for our vintage, but that narrows with time. Grew up Middlesbrough UK, definitely has the voice and sound from someone from the South. Mainly tours in Europe. He came down with a severe case of pancreatitis and was near death. It was at this time he decided to go back to what he loved, the blues and he later did an 11 CD box set titles “Blue Guitars” which was richly illustrated with his paintings. At this point I had thought that he was done recording, but he has done one album and tour since then.

    It’s all good stuff, you photography and his tune.

    Reply
  2. Don

    Great job Paul with the slide show and the music was perfect. I’m 62 and I love the same music you are talking about. Most people know Chris Rea with “Fool, if you think its over”. Last year at SPAC I saw the Moody Blues, Heart and Journey this year it is Tom Petty and Crosby, Stills and Nash.

    Mellencamp and Straits, now that would be a great concert.

    Reply
    • Paul Maxim

      Thanks, Don. I don’t think we’ll ever see Dire Straits together again, but that’s OK. It was all Mark Knopfler, anyway. And he’s still around. I’ve never been a huge fan of Crosby, Stills, and Nash but I love Tom Petty. Damn, what happens to us when all these folks quit or die? I don’t even know the names of the “artists” that my grandchildren listen to…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

