Yesterday's Light

Images in Space and Time

Bridge Building

I had an opportunity over the weekend to meet with Mark Hobson (The Landscapist).  Mark, who has lived in Rochester and has relatives here, had decided to drive to Taughannock Falls on Saturday and then head north to the Flower City.  Before doing so, he’d let me know he was heading in this direction and wanted to know if I’d like to meet him somewhere.  Well sure, I said.  Why not?

Now, anyone who has read either blog might wonder if this was a good idea.  It ain’t no secret that Mark and I have crossed swords from time to time.  Our views have clashed over a number of things, including what constitutes a good photograph.  Not to mention the nature of “truth” and “reality”.

Not to worry.  Mark and I had a long lunch and an even longer discussion.  It was so long that I think he was more than a little late getting back on the road to his home in the Adirondacks (Au Sable Forks).  We talked about all kinds of things (except truth and reality) and discovered we had much in common.  We also discovered that some of the differences we’d had were more the result of misunderstood language than actual substance.

Our views on photography, however, are still somewhat different.  Mark still favors complexity in his images and I still strive mightily for simplicity.  Our subject matter preferences are different.  Mark prefers color over black and white while for me it’s kind of a toss-up. 

Well, so what.  Unlike at least one of our political parties here in the U. S., the photographic tent is very large.  Lots of room for everybody.  I might not “get” one of Mark’s images, but in the final analysis he’s doing the same thing I am.  He’s trying to communicate something.  And that’s good enough for me.

4 Responses to “Bridge Building”

  1. Paul L.

    It’s always interesting to meet new bloggers. I’m sure that it would certainly be interesting to meet Mark. :-)

    Reply
  2. Paul Maxim

    You’re absolutely right, Paul. We should have a photographic blogger’s convention somewhere so we could put real faces behind all of these online exchanges. I know I’ve kicked myself a couple of times for not contacting you this past April when we last visited Charleston. I don’t know why I didn’t – I just didn’t. If you’re still there when we make our next trip (if and when), I won’t make that mistake again.

    Reply
  3. Cedric

    I’d love to meet up with you guys, Mark included but it won’t be happening soon I daresay. Still the beers will be on me if any of you ever make it down-under ;)

    Reply
  4. Chris Klug

    Except for Ray, there’s a real chance a number of us who read each other’s blogs are not really that far apart by car. Someplace like Philadelphia might be a decent central place to meet up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

